New Music Releases: February 17, 2017


We’ve got a lot of new music releases for this Friday, February 17. Check out solo albums from Sam Patch and Danny Worsnop plus a new one from Ryan Adams and a collaborative effort from Fat Joe and Remy Ma.

Apparently the week after the GRAMMY Awards is a great time to release a new album. Or maybe it’s just a coincidence that so many artists from a variety of genres all decided to launch their latest music this Friday. Check out who’s putting out something new this week.

Highway Queen, Nikki Lane

Dubbed the new darling of the outlaw country genre, Nikki Lane releases her third album, Highway Queen on Friday. Her second album, All or Nothin’, will be a tough act to follow, but Lane has poured herself into this one. Collaborating with her boyfriend Jonathan Tyler, Lane decided that she connected more with her fans if she was being more open and honest. In an interview with Entertainment Weekly, Lane said “We’re all coming from the common denominators that we all have feelings and we’re trying to find friendships and relationship that are eternal.” The entire album is available for streaming now exclusively at Entertainment Weekly.

1. 700,000 Rednecks
2. Highway Queen
3. Lay You Down
4. Jackpot
5. Companion
6. Big Mouth
7. Foolish Heart
8. Send The Sun
9. Muddy Waters
10. Forever Lasts Forever

Plata o Plomo, Fat Joe and Remy Ma

Individually, Fat Joe and Remy Ma are both hip hop legends. Together, they are a dynamic duo. Their latest collaborative effort, an album titled Plata o Plomo, will be available this Friday. The title, a quote from drug lord Pablo Escobar, literally translates from Spanish to “silver or lead,” or “bullets or money” as Fat Joe puts it. The album features numerous well-known guest appearances including Kent Jones, French Montana, and Ty Dolla Sign. “All the Way Up,” a single featuring French Montana and Infared, was nominated for Best Rap Performance and Rap Song at the GRAMMYs earlier this week.

1. Warning (featuring Kat Dahlia)
2. Swear to God (featuring Kent Jones)
3. Spaghetti (featuring Kent Jones)
4. All the Way Up (featuring French Montana and Infared)
5. How Can I Forget (featuring Kent Jones)
6. How Long (Interlude)
7. Go Crazy (featuring Sevyn Streeter)
8. Heartbreak (featuring The-Dream and Vindata)
9. Cookin (with French Montana featuring RySoValid)
10. Money Showers (featuring Ty Dolla Sign)
11. Too Quick (featuring Kingston)
12. Dreaming (featuring Stephanie Mills)

The Long Road Home, Danny Worsnop

In spite of his many years in the metalcore scene as the frontman for Asking Alexandria and We Are Harlot, Danny Worsnop’s first solo project is a country-inspired album titled The Long Road Home. Fans of Asking Alexandria are very familiar with Worsnop’s struggles with alcohol and drug addiction, a battle that’s reflected throughout the album. “Writing as deep and personal as I have on this record brought up a lot inside me from my years, allowing me to grow and move on from demons I didn’t even acknowledge having,” he said. Worsnop referred to the creation of The Long Road Home as “an emotional roller coaster” and “a reflection of my soul.” The first single, “Mexico,” was released back in November followed by “I Got Bones” and “Don’t Overdrink It.” Don’t be scared away by Worsnop’s reputation or the album’s heavy themes. There are plenty of upbeat country songs on here.

1. Prozac
2. Mexico
3. I Feel Like Shit
4. Anyone But Me
5. High
6. I Got Bones
7. Quite A While
8. Don’t Overdrink It
9. I’ll Hold On
10. Midnight Woman
11. Same Old Ending
12. The Man

Yeah You and I, Sam Patch (Tim Kingsbury)

Tim Kingsbury, bassist for Arcade Fire, is releasing his solo debut under the name of Sam Patch. Since August of 2015, Kingsbury and fellow Arcade Fire member Jeremy Gara along with artist Basia Bulat have been working on the Sam Patch project. John McEntire, of Sea and Cake and Tortoise, and Doug McCombs, also of Tortoise, make an appearance on Yeah, You and I, the first official Sam Patch studio album. (If you google “Sam Patch,” you’ll find page after page on a famous daredevil known as the Jersey Jumper. Yes, that’s where Kingsbury got the name.) Back in December, Kingsbury/Patch released the first single, “St. Sebastian.” According to a press release, Kingsbury’s influences for the debut LP include Leonard Cohen, Stereolab, ABBA, Devo, and Fleetwood Mac. Just the sort of eclectic mix you’d expect from Kingsbury.

1. Must Have Been an Oversight
2. 100 Decibels
3. St. Sebastian
4. Waiting to Wait
5. Listening
6. No No No No
7. Never Meant No Harm
8. Up All Night

Prisoner, Ryan Adams

Hitmaker Ryan Adams is at it again with his latest release, Prisoner. This will be Adams’ sixteenth (!!) studio album, a follow up to his 2014 self-titled album (not counting that entire 2015 album that was a track-by-track cover of Taylor Swift’s 1989.) On Prisoner, Adams again showcases a style influenced by 80s rock, similar to what he did with Ryan Adams. The first single from Prisoner, “Do You Still Love Me?,” sounds like it could’ve come straight from a Foreigner album or a soundtrack to a Tom Cruise movie. Fans of Adams or anyone who pays attention to celebrity relationships will pick up on the breakup theme of the album, courtesy of his divorce from Mandy Moore last year.

1. Do You Still Love Me?
2. Prisoner
3. Doomsday
4. Haunted House
5. Shiver and Shake
6. To Be Without You
7. Anything I Say to You Now
8. Breakdown
9. Outbound Train
10. Broken Anyway
11. Tightrope
12. We Disappear

Say10, Marilyn Manson

Shock rocker Marilyn Manson dropped a (sort of) surprise release of his tenth studio album today, titled Say10. Manson worked with composer Tyler Bates who is currently working on the score for the TV show Salem on which Manson now has a recurring role. According to Manson, Say10 is a lot like his last album, The Pale Emporer, and similar to his previous works. “The people who have heard the new songs said it reminded them of their favorite parts of Antichrist Superstar and Mechanical Animals—but with a new, different approach,” stated Manson.

Next: Lin-Manuel Miranda Fulfilled our Galentine’s Dreams with a Playlist

Other new releases this week include Saturday Night from Ought’s Tim Darcy, Big Balloon from Dutch Uncles, Mystery Weekend’s Surprise!, Metropolis from Parallels, and Son Volt’s Notes of Blue.