What Albums are Being Released Friday, December 16th?


This week we have rap & hip hop releases from Kid Cudi and The Lox, metalcore from The Funeral Portrait, and alt-indie from Omar Rodriguez-Lopez and more!

Music releases are slowing down for the year, but we still have a couple AWESOME new albums this week. Kid Cudi is releasing his new rap album, following a foray into alt-rock. The Lox has a new album, their first since 2009. We’ll also hear from up-and-coming metalcore band The Funeral Portrait, known for theatrics and throwing formulaic rock out the window. And last, artist best known as the guitarist from The Mars Volta, Omar Rodriguez-Lopez, will release his TWELFTH solo album this year.

Take a look at all the goodies coming this Friday!

Kid Cudi, Passion, Pain & Demon Slayin’
Republic Records

Passion, Pain & Demon Slayin’ is Kid Cudi’s sixth studio album, following his release of his alternative rock album (yes, you read that right) Speedin’ Bullet 2 Heaven from 2015. This album will definitely be rap, versus alt rock.

Something interesting that Kid Cudi will be doing on this album, and did on his Man on the Moon album series, is splitting the albums into acts. Passion, Pain & Demon Slayin’ has four acts (Tuned: Tracks 1-5; Prophecy: Tracks 6-10; Niveaux de l’Amour: Tracks 11-15; It’s Bright and Heaven is Warm: Tracks 16-19).

Track Listing:

  1. Frequency
  2. Swim in the Light
  3. Releaser
  4. By Design feat. Andre 3000
  5. All In
  6. ILLusions
  7. Rose Golden feat. Willow Smith
  8. Baptized in Fire feat. Travis Scott
  9. Fight at First Sight/ Advanced feat. Pharrell Williams
  10. Does It
  11. Dance 4 Eternity
  12. Distant Fantasies
  13. Wounds
  14. Mature Nature
  15. Kitchen
  16. Cosmic Warrior
  17. The Guide feat. Andre 3000
  18. The Commander
  19. Surfin’ feat. Pharrell Williams

Little Simz, Stillness In Wonderland

Stillness In Wonderland is the U.K.’s Little Simz’ second album, following A Curious Take of Trials + Persons. If you’re unfamiliar with Little Simz, her music is what she might call experimental hip hop.

She only just released the album’s release date yesterday, and has not yet released a track listing, although you can listen to one song, “Poison Ivy”.

Track Listing: Currently TBA, but we know that Track 12 is “Poison Ivy” feat. Tilla.

The Lox, Filthy America… It’s Beautiful
Universal Music LLC

The Lox, made up of Sheek Louch, Styles P, and Jadakiss, are reuniting and dropping a brand new rap album this Friday with Filthy America… It’s Beautiful. It’s their first album since No Security back in 2009.

In an interview on December 1st, Styles P had this to say on the meaning of Filthy America… It’s Beautiful:

"America is filthy, but it’s fucking beautiful. It’s happens race-wise, education wise. You go about it everyday like it’s not happening. You go to work you see it your co-workers, and we talk about social media and shit like that. It’s a fucked up place, but it’s a beautiful place because we can make money, and we have the opportunity to open businesses, and we just try to call it how we see it."

I just want to ask them if they like Salmon…

Image courtesy of Universal Music LLC

  1. Omen
  2. Stupid Questions
  3. What Else You Need To Know
  4. The Family
  5. The Agreement feat. Fetty Wap
  6. Move Forward
  7. Savior feat. Dyce Payne
  8. Don’t You Cry
  9. Hard Life feat. Mobb Deep
  10. Filthy America
  11. Bad Allegiance
  12. Secure The Bag feat. Gucci Mane

The Funeral Portrait, A Moment of Silence
Revival Records

A Moment of Silence, from metalcore band The Funeral Portrait is the follow-up to their debut EP, For the Dearly Departed. This is a rock band that has turned their back on traditional formulaic music and is doing whatever they want, and it works. They are rock + theater, if that tickles your fancy.

The Alternative Press is calling them “a wonderfully inspiring antidote to the more stagnant metalcore bands.”

Image courtesy of Revival Records

Track Listing:

  1. A Moment of Silence
  2. The Water Obeyed the Gravity
  3. Fate Connector
  4. Shaking Hands
  5. The Fear of God
  6. Like Father Like Son
  7. Cerulean
  8. Double Helix
  9. Save Yourself
  10. Appeal to Reason
  11. To Whom It May Concern
  12. Spark
  13. Guillotine

Omar Rodríguez-López, Some Need It Lonely
Ipecac Records

Earlier this year, Omar Rodríguez-López (The Mars Volta, At the Drive-In) announced that he would release twelve albums before the end of 2016. Well, here we are, at the end of the year, and Omar has done just that. Some Need It Lonely is his 12th album this year. All songs were written by the guitarist, and feature him on vocals and guitar.

Image courtesy of Ipecac Recordings

Track Listing:

  1. Bitter Sunsets
  2. We Might
  3. Sanity a Dream
  4. Zophiel
  5. Archangel Trophy
  6. Changes
  7. Back to the Same
  8. Zero Worth
  9. Barachiel Is At It Again
  10. Ariel
  11. Mulu Lizi

Next: 36 New Holiday and Christmas Albums for 2016

What did you love this week? Drop us a line and let us know!