New Album Releases for Friday, December 2nd


New album releases this week include an EP from The Arctic Monkey’s side project and an album from John Legend and more! Take a look below at this week’s new music!

If there’s one thing to note about this week’s new album releases, it’s that ALL of them have VERY intriguing song titles. From Childish Gambino’s “Redbone”, John Legend’s “Right By You (For Luna)” (Luna is his baby daughter! *Squee*), to Doherty’s “Kolly Kibber”, there are song titles all over the dang place. It makes me giddy.

Then, of course, there’s Deadmau5, who always has something interesting in the lineup. Not only do his track titles seem… odd… but the album name, too, lends itself to the EDM artist.

We also have some news about country music singer RaeLynn, whose album Wildhorse was supposed to drop this week.

Check out all the news, and newness, below!

Childish Gambino, Awaken, My Love!
Glassnote Records

Childish Gambino (Donald Glover) will release his new album, and what he’s calling a limited edition “virtual reality” vinyl, this Friday. So what makes it virtual reality? No one is really sure, but I’m sure it’s a term used to speak to some social issue or the state of affairs we are living in these days. Your guess is as good as mine, really.

Awaken, My Love! is the follow-up to his 2013 record Because the Internet from 2013.

Track listing:

  1. Me and Your Mama
  2. Have Some Love
  3. Boogieman
  4. Zombies
  5. Riot
  6. Redbone
  7. California
  8. Terrified
  9. Baby Boy
  10. The Night Me and Your Mama Met
  11. Stand Tall

Deadmau5, W:/2016Album
mau5trap Recordings Limited

This will be the first album from Deadmau5 since 2014, and the producer/ sound engineer has been teasing fans on Twitter about the album since July. Finally– FINALLY!– there is closure this Friday. Although, if you’re a truly eager fan, he’s already teasing another new album.

Track listing:

  1. 2448
  2. 4ware
  3. Cat Thruster
  4. Glish
  5. Imaginary Friends
  6. Let Go
  7. Deus Ex Machina
  8. No Problem
  9. Snowcone
  10. Three Pounds Chicken Wing
  11. Whelk Then

John Legend, Darkness and Light
Columbia Records

This album might as well be called “Real Talk with John Legend”. Inspired by current events, and special events in his personal life– like becoming a father for the first time– fuel this record in a way that is supremely satisfying. If post-election political statements is what you’re looking for, grab this one.

Track listing:

  1. I Know Better
  2. 2. Penthouse Floor feat. Chance the Rapper
  3. Darkness and Light feat. Brittany Howard
  4. Overload feat. Miguel
  5. Love Me Now
  6. What You Do to Me
  7. Surefire
  8. Right By You (For Luna)
  9. Temporarily Painless
  10. How Can I Blame You
  11. Same Old Story
  12. Marching Into the Dark
  13. Drawing Lines*
  14. What You Do to Me (Piano Demo)*
  15. Love You Anyway*

*Target exclusive tracks.

Pete Doherty, Hamburg Demonstrations
BMG Rights Management (UK) Ltd

Pete Doherty is an English musician, songwriter, actor, poet, writer, and artist and will release his second solo album this Friday, Hamburg Demonstrations. The album explores addiction, despair, and the terrorist attacks in Paris from last fall. NME has called it “some of the prettiest, best-realised songs of Doherty’s career.”

Track listing:

  1. Kolly Kibber
  2. Down For The Outing
  3. Birdcage
  4. Hell To Pay At The Gates Of Heaven
  5. Flags From The Old Regime
  6. I Don’t Love Anyone (But You’re Not Just Anyone) v2
  7. A Spy In The House Of Love (Demo Vocals)
  8. Oily Boker
  9. I Don’t Love Anyone (But You’re Not Just Anyone)
  10. The Whole World Is Our Playground
  11. She Is Far

The Rolling Stones, Blue & Lonesome
Interscope Records

So… this is a cover album. Of oldies blues songs. By the Rock Legends The Rolling Stones. A cover album. By The Stones. *Blinks*

Okay, so here’s the deal… Before The Rolling Stones were famous for anything, they were a blues cover band. So here they are, reaching back in time, to pay homage to the music that made them who they became and who they are. It’s sure to be a lot of fun. As USA Today said, “the album sounds like the best kind of passion project.”

Track listing:

  1. Just Your Fool
  2. Commit A Crime
  3. Blue and Lonesome
  4. All of Your Love
  5. I Gotta Go
  6. Everyone Knows About My Good Thing
  7. Ride ’em on Down
  8. Hate to See You Go
  9. Hoo Doo Blues
  10. Little Rain
  11. Just LIke I Treat You
  12. I Can’t Quit You Baby

RaeLynn, Wildhorse
Warner Music Nashville

The Wildhorse release which was previously set to December 2nd has been pushed to a 2017 release. According to Taste of Country and iTunes, Wildhorse will drop June 30th, 2017. Sorry, RaeLynn fans– you have another six months to wait!

The Last Shadow Puppets, The Dream Synopsis EP
Domino Recording Company

The Last Shadow Puppets is the English Supergroup made up of Arctic Monkey’s Alex Turner, The Rascals’ Miles Kane, Simian’s James Ford, and Mini Mansions’ Zach Dawes. The Dream Synopsis is their fourth project and second EP. If you’re a huge fan, you’ll notice a cover of Bowie’s “Moonage Daydream”, which they have been performing at shows while on tour, is missing from the track listing.

Track listing:

  1. Aviation
  2. Les Cactus (Cover of Jacques Dutronc)
  3. Totally Wired (Cover of The Fall)
  4. This Is Your Life (Cover of Glaxo Babies)
  5. Is This What You Wanted (Cover of Leonard Cohen)
  6. The Dream Synopsis

Next: 36 New Holiday and Christmas Albums for 2016

What new music do you love this week? Are we missing something? Let us know in the comments!